Mandla is a tribal district of Madhya Pradesh.The district Mandla is situated in the east-central part of Madhya Pradesh. The district lies almost entirely in the catchement of river Narmada its tributaries. A district with a glorious history, Mandla comprises of numerous rivers and endowed with rich forests. The world's famous Tiger Sanctuary, Kanha National Park located in the district, is one of the hottest targets for both the domestic as well as foreign tourists. The extreme length of the district is about 133 Kms. from north to south and extreme breadth is 182 Kms from east to west. It covers a total area of 8771 Sq.Km. and consists a total population of 779414. There are 9 blocks 4 Tehsils and 1214 villages in the district.Mandla district is surrounded by holy river Narmada.

Temperature (C) :
Best Season:

Major Industries:
M/S Primo Pick n Pack Private Ltd., Maneri.
M/S Simpleya Tubes Private Ltd., Maneri.
M/S P.S.L. Engineering Works, Maneri.
M/S Primo Pick and Pack No. 2, Maneri.
M/S Card Board Paper Product, Maneri.
M/S Sima Ruber Private Ltd., Maneri.
M/S Commercial Body Builders, Maneri.
M/S Navin Febricators Private Ltd., Maneri.
M/S Kailash Auto Builders Udaypur, Bijadandi Block Mandla ( M.P.)
M/S Narmada KhandSari PiparPani, Mandla( M.P.)


Educational Institutions :


Places of interest:


Historical Facts:
From 1818 A.D. to 1835, Mandla was considered a tahsil of Seoni district, whereas Ramgarh ( now Dindori tract) and sohagpur ( now in Shahdol) were included in Jabalpur district. In 1840 A.D. Mandla was also transferred from seoni to Jabalpur District. It was upgraded to the status of a district in 1849 A.D. but only six month later is was reverted to its old position. Finally, in 1851 A.D., Mandla, Ramgarh and sohagpur were united to constitute the independent district of Mandla. It was put under the charge of Deputy commissioner. At the commencement of the mutiny in 1857, the chief of Ramgarh, Shahpura and Sohagpur joined the mutineers. When order was restored, Sohagpur was made over to Rewa and the estate of Ramgarh and Shahpura were confiscated. Ealy 1858, after some unsuccessful attempts of Mutiny, British administration was firmly established at Mandla. There was numerous changes in territory of the district. In the year 1867, on the formation of Balaghat district, 262 villages of Ramgarh-Bichhiya were transferred from Seoni to Mandla. Originally, the district had only two tahsils i.e Mandla and Ramgarh. The present Dindori tract was known as Ramgarh till the year 1904, when is was given its present name. In 1892, the first Indian civil service officer in the state was appointed the deputy commissioner and was posted at Mandla. In 1914, a third tahsil Niwas was formed with headquarters at the village of the same name. Later on the number of tahsils increased to six. These were Mandla, Nainpur, Bichhiya, Dindori, Niwas and Shahpura. Prior to May,1998 Mandla district was divided into six tahsils, viz., Mandla,Nainpur, Bichhiya, Dindori, Niwas and Shahpura. In was also divided into three sub-divisions for revenue and general administration purposees. Mandla sub-division comprised Bichhiya, Nainpur and Mandla tahsils, while Niwas sub-division had Niwas and Shahpura tahsils. Dindori was the eastern sub-division which had only Dindori tahsi. With the promulgation of Madhya Pradesh reorganisation of the district act, from 21st May 1998, Mandla district has been bifurcated into Mandla and Dindori District. The complete Dindori and Shahpura tahsils and mahandwani development Block formed Dindori District while the rest of the area existed in Mandla Districct.

Demographic details:

Other Details: