Madhya Pradesh Profile

Madhya Pradesh was originally the largest state in India until November 1, 2000 when the state of Chattisgarh was carved out. Historically it is known as Malwa. The predominant language of the region is Hindi. Due to the rule of Marathas, Marathi is spoken by a substantial number of people. It borders the states Uttar Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan and Gujarat. It comprises of 50 districts, which are grouped into ten divisions. Anuppur, Ashoknagar and Burhanpur are the three districts formed on August 15, 2003.
Districts under 10 divisions of Madhya Pradesh:
  • Bhopal Division - Bhopal, Raisen, Rajgarh, Sehore, Vidisha
  • Gwalior Division - Ashoknagar, Shivpuri, Datia, Guna, Gwalior
  • Narmadapuram Division - Harda, Hoshangabad, Betul
  • Chambal Division - Morena, Sheopur, Bhind
  • Indore Division - Barwani, Burhanpur, Dhar, Indore, Jhabua, Khandwa, Khargone, Alirajpur
  • Jabalpur Division - Balaghat, Chhindwara, Jabalpur, Katni, Mandla, Narsinghpur, Seoni
  • Rewa Division - Rewa, Satna, Sidhi, Singroli
  • Sagar Division - Chhatarpur, Damoh, Panna, Sagar, Tikamgarh
  • Shahdol Division - Shahdol, Umaria, Dindori, Anuppur
  • Ujjain Division - Dewas, Mandsaur, Neemuch, Ratlam, Shajapur, Ujjain
Presently all districts share the same names as their capitals; West Nimar has been renamed Khargone and East Nimar as Khandwa. Its Industrial Policy & Action Plan 1994 aims at ensuring balanced regional development and providing employment opportunities to help improve the standard of living of the people. The state is rich in low-grade coal suitable for power generation and some of the finest hard woods in the world. The Government of M.P has formed a joint venture with National Hydro-Electric Power Consumption, a Government of India undertaking for execution of 1000 M.W. Indira Sagar Hydro Electric Project. It is the first state of the country to start producing optical fibre for purposes of telecommunicationscoal she uisi1n and star